top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaresha Swopes

A Mist of Fall

Two things that I look forward to in regards to the holiday season are candles and indoor decorations. There's absolutely nothing comparable to the excitement I experience when purchasing some of my favorite seasonal fragrances from Bath & Bath Body Works, such as Pumpkin Spice Latte, Tis the Season, and Vanilla Bean Noel. OMG! And don't let me catch the annual sale, Oh boy, it is on and popping.

However, over the past couple of years, my health has changed tremendously. I was never an individual who experienced bad allergies, that was until I reached my early to mid-twenties. Now I can no longer find pleasure in buying these great products due to the constant sneezing and developed nasal congestion once burning a single candle for a few minutes. But that ended today, for I have made it my mission to find different ways to fill my home with scents that warms my little Theraflu heart without causing sinus congestion.

Thanks to the Better Homes & Gardens blog page for providing a list of essentials oils that are popular for creating a fall time aroma. From this list, I was able to make various combinations into 1 scented spray recipe that works well for individuals with allergies. Scroll down to view some of the recipes that I remixed in order to fill my living space with fresh fall scents.

For this diy project I used the 4 essential oils listed below:

  • Lemon

  • Clove bud (cedarwood & mix)

  • Cinnamon

  • Sweet Orange

Combine x10 drops of each essential oils to 1/2 cup of water and 1/2 cup of vodka in a clean spray bottle, shake well after mixing.



For the best results be sure that your spray bottle has multiple spraying settings, specifically a misting setting. You can purchase all essential oils ($ 4.97) and spray bottle ($.98) at your nearest Walmart. Feel free to have fun experimenting with other essential oils creating a variety of fall scents using:

  • Ginger

  • Rosemary

  • Scandal wood

  • White fir

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page